How to watch Marvel movies and TV shows in order

MCU stands out as a prime example for having weaved together 32 films produced by various directors, writers, and stars
A representational image of an MCU character. — Unsplash
A representational image of an MCU character. — Unsplash

The concept of a "shared universe" in popular entertainment has a rich history, especially in comic books dating back decades.

Marvel Cinematic Universe (MCU) stands out as a prime example, seamlessly weaving together 32 films produced by various directors, writers, and stars.

To enjoy the MCU content in the best order, fans can choose from different viewing approaches. Die-hard enthusiasts often opt for the Order of Release, embracing the excitement of the timeline as it unfolds. 

Read more: Google cloud deleted $125bn pension fund account unintentionally

Alternatively, the Chronological Order provides a different perspective, aligning events based on the timeline within the MCU universe, taking into account flashbacks and time jumps. 

A third option, Chronological Order With TV Shows and One-Shots, incorporates additional related TV shows and short films, adding depth and interconnectedness to the viewing experience reminiscent of the comic collecting era where crossovers were essential for continuity. 

Best order to watch Marvel movies

Have a look at all the MCU phases provided below if you wish to watch all the MCU sequels in the best order. 

Order of MCU phase 1 

  • Iron Man (May 2008)
  • The Incredible Hulk (June 2008)
  • Iron Man 2 (May 2010)
  • Thor (May 2011)
  • Captain America: The First Avenger (July 22, 2011)
  • Avengers (May 4, 2012)

Order of MCU Phase 2 

  • Iron Man 3 (May 2013)
  • Thor: The Dark World (November 2013)
  • Captain America: The Winter Soldier (April 2014)
  • Guardians of the Galaxy (August 2014)
  • Avengers: Age of Ultron (May 2015)
  • Ant-Man (July 2015)

Order of MCU Phase 3 

  • Captain America: Civil War (May 2016)
  • Doctor Strange (November 2016)
  • Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2 (May 2017)
  • Spider-Man: Homecoming (July 2017).
  • Thor: Ragnarok (November 2017)
  • Black Panther (February 2018)
  • Avengers: Infinity War (April 2018)
  • Ant-Man and the Wasp (July 2018)
  • Captain Marvel (March 2019)
  • Avengers: Endgame (April 2019)
  • Spider-Man: Far From Home (July 2019)

Order of MCU Phase 4 

  • Black Widow (July 2021)
  • Shang-Chi and the Legend of the Ten Rings (September 2021)
  • The Eternals (November 2021)
  • Spider-Man: No Way Home (December 2021)
  • Doctor Strange in the Multiverse of Madness (May 6, 2022)
  • Thor: Love and Thunder (July 8, 2022)
  • Black Panther: Wakanda Forever (November 11, 2022)

Order of MCU Phase 5 

  • Ant-Man and the Wasp: Quantumania (February 16, 2023)
  • Guardians of the Galaxy, Vol. 3 (May 5, 2023)
  • The Marvels (November 10, 2023)